state disability and leave benefits

In addition to Chevron’s disability and time off programs, several states provide their own disability insurance programs and leave laws. The rules for eligibility, benefits and plan provisions vary from state to state and may be different from Chevron’s plans. If the laws in your state provide more generous provisions than federal law or company policy, you'll be eligible for the more generous provisions. Read more about the disability and leave programs provided by the following states.

california

Learn about the state programs available in California if you're a California-based employee (or a seagoing or U.S.-payroll expatriate employee working in a non-U.S. location for a Chevron operating company based in California).

all other states

If you’re a Colorado employee, the Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (HFWA) provides paid sick leave benefits for certain health and safety-related needs. You are eligible for up to 48 hours of paid sick leave per year to take time off work for the following reasons:

  • You have a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition that prevents you from working; need a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment related to such illness, injury, or condition; or need to obtain preventive medical care.
  • You need to care for a family member who has a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition or who needs a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment related to such illness, injury, or condition; or who needs to obtain preventive medical care.
  • You or a family member has been the victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or criminal harassment and you need to be absent from work for purposes related to such crime.
  • A public official has ordered the closure of the school or place of care of your child or of your place of business due to a public health emergency, necessitating your absence from work.

In addition, in the event of a public health emergency, the HFWA provides up to 80 hours* of paid leave, which includes the 48 hours of paid sick leave as described above. You can use this supplemental leave upon declaration of a public health emergency for the following reasons:

  • To self-isolate due to exposure or a positive diagnosis.
  • To seek medical treatment with respect to a disease.
  • To care for a family member or a child.
  • Because you are unable to work due to pre-existing health conditions.

You may be required to provide documentation if your leave is for four or more consecutive workdays. However, no documentation is required for leave due to a public health emergency.

* 80 hours for employees who work at least 40 hours per week. Employees who work less than 40 hours per week are eligible for either the actual hours worked or average of actual hours worked in a 14-day period, whichever is greater.


for more information

Refer to the Colorado Workplace Public Health Rights Poster and Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion for complete details and purposes for use. You can also visit the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment Division of Labor Standards and Statistics website for more information.


recording time off

The following table provides guidance for how time off is covered under our benefit programs and/or policies and applicable time codes to use when recording time off for eligible HFWA reasons.

reason for time off benefit or policy time code

You:

  • Have a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition that prevents you from working.
  • Need to obtain a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition, including those caused by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or harassment.
  • Need to obtain preventive medical care.
  • Obtain mental health or other counseling due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or harassment.
  • Need to seek medical attention to recover from a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition caused by the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or harassment.

Sick-Full Pay (or Sick-Half Pay if you have used up your full-pay benefits)

You need to care for a family member who:

  • Has a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition.
  • Needs to obtain a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition, including those caused by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or harassment.
  • Needs to obtain preventive medical care.
  • Needs to obtain mental health or other counseling due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or harassment.

Family Care (up to 40 hours)

  • Time that exceeds the 40-hour Family Care benefit should be coded to Personal Leave
  • If you're not eligible for Family Care, time should be coded to Personal Leave

You or your eligible family member has been the victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault or harassment, and the leave is to:

  • Obtain services from a victim services organization.
  • Seek relocation due to the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or harassment.
  • Seek legal services, including preparation for or participation in a civil or criminal proceeding relating to or resulting from the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or harassment.

Family Care (up to 40 hours)

  • Time that exceeds the 40-hour Family Care benefit should be coded to Personal Leave

Due to a public health emergency, a public official has ordered closure of:

  • Your place of business.
  • The school or place of care for your child(ren) and you need to be absent from work to care for such child(ren).

Family Care (up to 40 hours)

  • Time that exceeds the 40-hour Family Care benefit should be coded to Personal Leave

Due to a public health emergency, you need to:

  • Self-isolate and care for yourself because you are diagnosed with a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.
  • Self-isolate and care for yourself because you are experiencing symptoms of a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.
  • Seek or obtain medical diagnosis, care, or treatment because you are experiencing symptoms of a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.
  • Seek preventive care concerning a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.

Sick-Full Pay (or Sick-Half Pay if you have used up your full-pay benefits)

Due to a public health emergency, you need to care for a family member who:

  • Is self-isolating after being diagnosed with a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.
  • Is self-isolating due to experiencing symptoms of a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.
  • Needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment if experiencing symptoms of a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.
  • Is seeking preventive care concerning a communicable illness that is the cause of a public health emergency.

Family Care (up to 40 hours)

  • Time that exceeds the 40-hour Family Care benefit should be coded to Personal Leave

Due to a public health emergency, a local, state, or federal public official or health authority orders a quarantine and as a result:

  • You are unable to report to work due to the quarantine order or because you have a health condition that puts you at increased risk or because you are exhibiting symptoms of a communicable illness.
  • You need to care for a family member who is unable to report to work due to the quarantine order or because they are exhibiting symptoms of a communicable illness.
  • You need to care for your child(ren) or other family member because the child care provider is unavailable or the school or place of care has been closed.

Family Care (up to 40 hours)

  • Time that exceeds the 40-hour Family Care benefit should be coded to Personal Leave
If you’re a Hawaii employee, the state requires that you have state Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) coverage. Chevron provides coverage that meets the state requirement through your benefits from the  Short-Term Disability Plan . If necessary, local management will increase your Short-Term Disability banks so that you receive the benefits required by the state.
If you work in Massachusetts and need time off to care for yourself and your family, Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) provides paid time off. Refer to the notice of your rights and obligations and Paid Family and Medical Leave poster for details.

If you’re a New Jersey employee, the state requires that you have disability insurance coverage under its Temporary Disability Benefits (TDB) law.

Effective January 1, 2009, New Jersey employees are covered under the New Jersey state plan.

Family Leave Insurance is a component of the New Jersey state plan beginning in 2009. The program is funded by additional payroll deductions, Family Leave Insurance benefits were first payable beginning July 1, 2009. The following charts summarize the key features of the program.


new jersey state disability benefits
Cost For 2022, the cost is .14% of taxable wages up to $151,900. Your maximum annual contribution is $212.66.
Filing a Claim You must file your claim with the state. When you contact Chevron's absence management partner to report your disability, you will receive a New Jersey claim form. You can also call the New Jersey division of Temporary Disability Insurance 609-292-7060 to request a claim form, or download a form (DS-1) directly through the state website http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us.
Waiting Period Your state benefits can begin on the day after a seven-day waiting period.
Benefit Payments The state mails benefit payments to you. Your Short-Term Disability Plan benefits will be reduced by the amount that you’ll receive from the State of New Jersey, beginning on the second pay period after your disability begins.
Benefit Amount In 2022, 85% of your average weekly state wages, up to a maximum of $993 per week.

For any portion of a week in which you are disabled, the benefit will be prorated.
Maximum Benefits Your maximum benefit amount is 26 weeks.

new jersey state disability plan — family leave insurance benefits
Cost For 2022, your cost is .14% of taxable wages up to $151,900. The maximum annual contribution will be $212.66.
Filing a Claim You must file your claim with the state. Claim forms and information are available at www.nj.gov/labor/fli2
Waiting Period Benefits may begin on the day after a seven-day waiting period.
When Disability Benefits Are Payable When you take time off work to bond with a child or care for a family member with a serious physical or mental health condition, including COVID-19, or to handle certain matters related to domestic or sexual violence.
Benefit Amount In 2022, 85% of your average weekly state wages, up to a maximum of $993 per week.

For any portion of a week, the benefit will be prorated.
Maximum Benefits Your maximum benefit is 12 consecutive weeks during a 12-month period. If taking intermittent leave, up to 56 days in a 12-month period.

If you’re a New Mexico employee, the Healthy Workplaces Act (HWA) provides paid sick leave benefits for certain health, legal or family needs. You are eligible for up to 64 hours of paid sick leave per year to take time off work for the following reasons:

  • You have an illness, injury, or health condition that prevents you from working; need a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment related to such illness, injury, or condition; or need to obtain preventive medical care.
  • You need to care for a family member who has an illness, injury, or health condition or who needs a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment related to such illness, injury, or condition; or who needs to obtain preventive medical care.
  • You have a meeting that you need to attend related to your child's health or disability that prevents you from working.
  • You or a family member has been a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking and you need to be absent from work for purposes related to such crime.
  • You may be required to provide documentation if your leave is for two or more consecutive workdays.

for more information

Refer to the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions Paid Sick Leave Poster for details and purposes for use. You can also visit the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions website for more information.


recording time off

The following table provides guidance for how time off (up to 64 hours) is covered under our benefit programs and/or policies and applicable time codes to use when recording time off for eligible HWA reasons. Follow the Disability Management process for reporting any absences greater than 5 days.

For compliance reporting purposes, include "NM PSL" in the description field.

Reason for time off Benefit or policy Time code

You:

  • Have an illness, injury, or health condition that prevents you from working.
  • Need to obtain a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of an illness, injury, or health condition, including those caused by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.
  • Need to obtain preventive medical care.
  • Obtain mental health or other counseling due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.
  • Need to seek medical attention to recover from an illness, injury, or health condition caused by the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.

Sick-Full Pay (or Sick-Half Pay if you have used up your full-pay benefits)

Include "NM PSL" in the description field.

You need to care for a family member who:

  • Has an illness, injury, or health condition.
  • Needs to obtain a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of an illness, injury, or health condition, including those caused by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.
  • Needs to obtain preventive medical care.
  • Needs to obtain mental health or other counseling due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.

Family Care (up to 40 hours) and Personal Leave (up to 24 hours)

Include "NM PSL" in the description field.

  • Time that exceeds the 40-hour Family Care benefit should be coded to Personal Leave
  • If you're not eligible for Family Care, time should be coded to Personal Leave

You or your eligible family member has been the victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking, and the leave is to:

  • Obtain services from a victim services organization.
  • Seek relocation due to the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.
  • Seek legal services, including preparation for or participation in a civil or criminal proceeding relating to or resulting from the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.

Family Care (up to 40 hours) and Personal Leave (up to 24 hours)

Include "NM PSL" in the description field.

  • Time that exceeds the 40-hour Family Care benefit should be coded to Personal Leave

If you're a New York employee, the state requires that you have disability insurance coverage under its Disability Benefits Law (DBL). You're covered under a company-sponsored private disability insurance plan coordinated by Chevron's absence management partner, but insured through The Standard. 

Benefits from the private plan and the state program combine with Short-Term Disability Plan benefits so that disability income from all sources doesn't exceed your full regular-pay benefits. The chart below shows the features of the private plan and the state program. You can find more information on New York’s website.


new york state disability benefits law (DBL)

Here are your benefits under the company-sponsored private plan:

Cost For 2022, the cost is 0.5% of your weekly wages, up to a maximum of 60 cents per week.
Filing a Claim Your claim is handled as part of the Disability Management process. When you call Chevron's absence management partner to report your disability, they will coordinate your claim with The Standard.
Coverage Amount You can receive benefits up to 50% of your average weekly wage. The maximum benefit is $170 per week for 2022.
Benefit Payments The Standard mails a separate check to you. Your Short-Term Disability Plan benefits are offset by the state disability payment.
How Long Benefits Are Paid Benefits are paid for a maximum of 26 weeks for any one period of disability.
Taxability of Contributions Your contributions are not deductible on your federal income tax.

This web page provides only certain highlights about changes of benefit provisions. It is not intended to be a complete explanation. If there are any discrepancies between this communication and the legal plan documents, the legal plan documents will prevail to the extent permitted by law. Oral statements about plan benefits are not binding on Chevron or the applicable plan. There are no vested rights with respect to Chevron health care plans or any company contributions towards the cost of such health care plans. Rather, Chevron Corporation reserves all rights, for any reason and at any time, to amend, change or terminate these plans or to change or eliminate the company contribution toward the cost of such plans. Such amendments, changes, terminations or eliminations may be applicable without regard to whether someone previously terminated employment with Chevron or previously was subject to a grandfathering provision. Some benefit plans and policies described in this document may be subject to collective bargaining and, therefore, may not apply to union-represented employees.